Heyyyy so I haven’t been posting here and I’ll tell you why…  I was in Mumbai for a wedding. SO!  There will be pictures when I can organize them but at the moment I just have a PKD excerpt for you:

______________________________________________
Ruth said, “Love isn’t just wanting another person the way you want to own an object you see in the store.  That’s just desire.  You want to have it around, take it home and set it up somewhere in the apartment like a lamp.  Love is”–she paused reflecting–“like a father saving his children from a burning house, getting them out and dying himself.  When you love you cease to live for yourself; you live for another person.”

“And that’s good?”  It didnt sound so good to him.  

“It overcomes instinct.  Instint pushes us into fighting for survival.  Like the pols ringing all the campuses.  Survival of ourselves at the expense of others; each of us claws his way up.  I can give you a good example.  My twenty-first husband, Frank.  We were married six months.  During that time he stopped loving me and became horribly unhappy.  I still loved him; I wanted to remain with him, but it was hurting him.  So I let him go.  You see?  It was better for him, and because I loved him that’s what counted.  See?”
Jason said, “But why is it good to go against the instinct for self-survival?”

“You don’t think I can say.”
“No,” he said.

“Because the instinct for survival loses in the end.  With every living creature, mole, bat, human, frog.  Even frogs who smoke cigars and play chess.  You can never accomplish what your survival instinct sets out to do, so ultimately your striving ends in failure and you succumb to death, and that ends it.  But if you love you can fade out and watch—”

-Flow My Tears, The Policeman Said, Philip K Dick
As usual, he is the absolute KING of science fiction. Read it!

Leave a comment