Amritsar

I was going to post some pictures from India, but they are either of the beach (Goa) or random things that aren’t picturesque.  The only sight-seeingish thing I did was go to Amritsar, Punjab.  The best thing I did while in India, because before this the only thing I knew about Sikhs was that they wear turbans. My Punjabi friend told me that the prime moral directive for Sikhs is to feed people. So if you ever stay with a family there you will be stuffed beyond belief. I had to start refusing every other meal because I was eating… I think 10 times a day.

 

These are from the Golden Temple (Gurdwara)..IMG_5350

IMG_5351

People in line to see the Holy book…The Guru Granth Sahib… Technically (from what I understand) the book is worshiped as the final Guru.  I think.  There were ten Gurus before that.

e

IMG_5352

Sikhs believe in a universal God, who is the same for every religion.

IMG_5354

That silver caterpillar is a pile of plates. Gurdwaras feed everyone regardless of caste/sex/ whatever.  The Golden Temple serves food almost 24 hours a day, sometimes to as many as 100,000 people.  Everyone sits on the ground to show that everyone is equal.  Sikhs were big advocates of getting rid of the caste system.

IMG_5358.JPG

People getting served from a huge vat of tea.  Oh you can’t wear shoes and you must keep your head covered.  Everyone who maintains and works at the temple does so on a volunteer basis. 

IMG_5356

THAT TEA.  Best thing I’ve ever tasted. 

I didn’t want to be THAT GUY taking pictures like I’m at the freaking zoo, when this is a serious and solemn place. But I just tried to be surreptitious and respectful. I got pamphlets because the religion is just… more people should learn about it.

I hope I didn’t get any facts wrong, feel free to correct me.

Leave a Reply

